HomeMusicDrummer Dave Lombardo Announces His First-Ever Solo Album, Shares the

    Drummer Dave Lombardo Announces His First-Ever Solo Album, Shares the

    Drummer Dave Lombardo has announced his first-ever solo album and released a song from it — an instrumental percussion voyage called “Journey of the Host.” Rites of Percussion, the album, emerges this May from the Slayer co-founder and drummer for Misfits, Mr. Bungle, Suicidal Tendencies and more.

    To be released on his Mr. Bungle bandmate Mike Patton’s Ipecac Recordings, Lombardo explains, “Patton originally gave me the idea [for this album] as far back as 1998. He introduced me to [Latin jazz bandleader] Tito Puente’s Top Percussion album (1958). I was already familiar with Tito and was a bit shocked that Patton was so musically diverse, and that he surrounded himself with musicians of the same mindset. That inspired me. I have had ideas that I’ve recorded on cassette over the years, but Patton kept insisting that I had to do a ‘drum album.’ So, the idea behind the album is years in the making. I just had to find the right time — for me — to do it.”

    Hear “Journey of the Host” near the bottom of this post.

    Lombardo continues, “When the pandemic hit, I thought, ‘Well, I can’t tour now.’ I immediately started working on the record. It was one of the greatest experiences I’ve ever had. I had my studio, all my drums. Nothing was in storage for once! My home became a place where I could be free and creative. On the one hand, the touring part of my livelihood had been taken away, but on the other, I finally had the time to educate myself on different software and recording techniques. It was a very educational and gratifying experience.”

    READ MORE: Guitarist Kerry King Felt ‘Anger’ Over What He Calls Slayer’s ‘Premature’ Retirement

    Though it’s his first solo album, the Cuban-American Lombardo scored the Cuban metal documentary Los Últimos Frikis in 2019. One of the drummer’s newer bands, the experimental-industrial Satanic Planet, released the single “Devil in Me” in 2021.

    In 1981, Lombardo launched Slayer with fellow Slayer co-founders Kerry King, Tom Araya and the late Jeff Hanneman. Slayer are considered among the “Big Four” thrash metal acts. They disbanded in 2019 after a farewell tour with then-drummer Paul Bostaph.

    Pre-order Rites of Percussion, out May 5, here.

    Dave Lombardo, Rites of Percussion Album Artwork + Track Listing

    Dave Lombardo ‘Rites of Percussion’ solo album front cover artwork

    Ipecac Recordings

    1. “Initiatory Madness”
    2. “Separation From the Sacred”
    3. “Inner Sanctum”
    4. “Journey of the Host”
    5. “Maunder in Liminality”
    6. “Despojo”
    7. “Interfearium”
    8. “Blood Let”
    9. “Warpath”
    10. “Guerrero”
    11. “Vicissitude”
    12. “Omiero”
    12. “Animismo”

    Dave Lombardo, “Journey of the Host” (Visualizer Music Video)

    Top 66 Hard Rock + Metal Drummers of All Time

    Read The Full Article Here

    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    Stars Weigh In on Tom Sandoval and Raquel Leviss’ Cheating
    Allison Williams Revealed Who She Thinks Would Win In A
    Bad Bunny Just Dropped A New Music Video
    Jelly Roll Says Daughter Bailee, 15, ‘Saved’ Him: ‘Something Clicked’
    Jeremy Strong Gets His Head Shaved by Kieran Culkin &
    Coronation Street spoilers: Geoff Metcalfe ‘exposed’ as Sally finds incriminating
    Jon Snow Game of Thrones Spin-off Series Gets Update, Isn’t
    NYFF 2020 Sets Closing Night Film: Michelle Pfeiffer Stars in
    The best and worst show on every streaming service
    ‘Ted Lasso,’ ‘The Idol’ & More That Top Our Ranking
    INIYA Serial | iniya Promo | இனியா
    3 Must-Watch Hotel Reno Reality Shows
    Lily-Rose Depp Gets ‘Brainwashed’ by The Weeknd in Official ‘The
    50 Best Metal Album Openers of the 1980s
    “Paint the Gray” by Manny Cabo
    Roger Waters under investigation by German police for “suspected incitement”
    “Dad in a Cheer Bow” By Author Patrick Riccards Now Available Worldwide
    Meet Everett De Morier: Acclaimed Author with a Secret
    Kim Greer Guests on The Happy Hour Podcast Friday June 17th, 2022 7 PM EST/ 4 PM PST On YouTube Live
    Beacon Audiobooks Releases “NFL 1970” Written By Author Ian S. Kahanowitz
    20 Old Navy Memorial Day Deals That Are Selling Out
    41 New Books We Can’t Wait to Read this Summer
    Sofia Richie Wedding Makeup: The Exact Products Used For Look
    The Sofia Richie Wedding Has The Internet Obsessed
    Interview with ‘First Contact’ Director Bruce Wemple and Stars Anna
    The COMPLETE History of Horror Movies
    Blood Corrodes Inside Trilogy Now Available on Blu-ray Boxset